Competitor of the Year
Rookie of the Year
Yacht Club of Year
Distinguished Service to Sailing
One Design
Historical Awards
< Home

MBSA is Supported By:

Rookie of the Year



Notes from 2018 MBSA Awards Dinner Provided by Doug Ryan, President MBSA

The first award is for Rookie-of-the-Year. This award was given out for the first time in 2005 to Chris Zibailo. Other former winners include Geoffrey Roth, the Sparkle Ponies, and the Rocketeers. All have gone on to prove their rookie seasons were not a fluke.

Logan moved his Pearson Rhodes Yawl to Hingham Bay this season and started to race more actively. Cynosure is a beautifully maintained classic design that causes even a novice mariner to do a nostalgic double take as she glides by masterfully.
Participation, enthusiasm and results all combined to confirm Logan as our Rookie of the Year.
Participation in fifteen separate days of racing in all types of conditions he is an inspiration to others with classic yachts on the fun that can be had in our sport. He assembled a crew of folks not familiar to those of us who have been around a few years. By doing so he increased the collective participation not only as one boat, but for a whole new crew we can welcome to our family.
Enthusiasm demonstrated by his eagerness to get involved. He has volunteered to be on the Hingham Bay Board. He brought with him new ideas and more importantly he is willing to lead the implementation of these ideas. Some thoughts are great from a logistical perspective, others from a technical perspective. For example, Logan built a prototype of a device that could transmit the wind instruments of all boats in the fleet back to the RC to help determine more accurate wind ranges on the race course. Our future will continue to include new technology and Logan brings credibility to the practical possibility of implementing emerging technology.
Results: Cynosure won his class in the Scorpion, Beringer, Hitchcock and Chowder which resulted in Logan and his crew taking the podium for the Mass Bay Championship and Hingham Bay Governor's Cup in 2018.
Congratulations to Cynosure, Logan and his entire crew for being our Mass Bay Rookie of the Year

© 2019 Massachusetts Bay Sailing Association, Inc.|Member U.S. Sailing|P.O. Box 140370, Boston, MA 02114||Mobile Site >