Competitor of the Year
Rookie of the Year
Yacht Club of Year
Distinguished Service to Sailing
One Design
Historical Awards
< Home

MBSA is Supported By:

Rookie of the Year



The next award is for Rookie-of-the-Year. This award was given out for the first time in 2005.

The boat that is receiving this award is, I believe, a newcomer to the Hingham Bay racing fleet. While most of their focus was on the Wednesday night series, they also raced on the weekends, participating in 3 PHRF regattas and 3 Pursuit regattas, scoring enough points to be just off the podium in 4th place in the Spinnaker class. In PHRF, they compete in the B fleet, so I got to see first-hand during the Rumbles and the pursuit races we shared how their boat handling and boat speed improved throughout the season. In one of the races that didn’t count toward the season, the Boston Light Race, they were 6th out of 16 spinnaker boats, but to put that in perspective, they were actually 3rd among the boats that chose the “wrong” way around the islands, finishing 4 minutes behind RockIt and only a minute and a half behind Tonga. It’s clear that they love their boat and are committed to learning how to make it go fast. There’s no pressure here, but many of the rookie of the year recipients in past years have gone on to win their divisions in subsequent years. and so it is with great pleasure that I present to you Rookie of the Year, Geoffrey Roth and Ceann Saile! Congratulations on a great season and many more to come.


© 2017 Massachusetts Bay Sailing Association, Inc.|Member U.S. Sailing|P.O. Box 140370, Boston, MA 02114||Mobile Site >